some goals: an annotated list

So, after my sort of emotional purging in my last blog about how much I hate life in Vermont, I’ve decided that a serious attitude shift is in order. And, for me, that means a lot of list making! This list I have decided to share with you all because if you know what I’m up to then I will be able to keep you updated!  So, here is a list of things that I want to accomplish during my time in Vermont. Some of them are daily tasks, some of them are long-term goals. Let’s see how I do.

1. The Complainer Wristband

A year or so ago, my older brother and his wife did this thing where they wore a rubber band on one wrist, and every time they complained, they would switch the rubber band to the other wrist. It forced them to become aware of every time they complained, and made them both realize that they complained a lot for no reason, and sometimes even used it just as conversation filler, like saying “I am so tired” for no reason just because they had nothing else to say. Anyway, I’m going to try this, because I think that the physical act of complaining less will make me feel better about my life – which, let’s be honest, could be infinitely worse.

2. Daily Yoga

So my plan was to get out here and get back on a running schedule, which I haven’t been on since last fall because I could never motivate myself to go running in Argentina and, to be honest, I am just not hardcore enough to go for a jog in 110-degree desert heat of Moab. So I got out here and thought, Great! I can go running! …Cue the pouring rain. I also am not hardcore enough to want to run every day through pouring rain. I mean once in a while is one thing, every single day is quite another. So, my solution is to get into a yoga routine instead. There isn’t a yoga studio per se in Johnson, but I do have a wood floor and an internet connection… Voila! Instant yoga class! In the past, I have found that when I get in a regular routine with yoga, it helps keep me focused and adding it to my daily routine really helps balance out my day. And I definitely could use a daily reminder to focus on my breathing and think about oneness. So, I am setting a goal for myself to do yoga once a day.

3. Daily Writing

Right, I work at an internship where I am constantly reading and writing and editing and why on earth would I want to come home and write even more? Well, the answer, my friends, is because I love to write. And I love to write what I want to write about. So my third goal is to set aside one hour for myself a day (outside of work… one hour is not as long as it sounds when you take into account the fact that I literally do not have a social life out here) to work on personal writing projects. Maybe if you, my faithful reader or two, are very lucky, I will even post some of the things I write!

4. The Elusive Pull-Up

Here come the long-term goals. I don’t know if it’s because my elbows are wonky or because I just have a big butt or what the deal is, but the ability to do a pull-up has always eluded me. But no longer! I have 9 weeks and a climbing gym and even some rock (on the occasion that it’s dry…) to climb on, and my roommate has a pull-up bar set up and everything. So, it’s going to happen. Get excited. I know I am.

5. The GRE

Last week I signed up to take the GRE on Friday, November 19. I took the GRE last June and my math score was 700 and my verbal was 540. Hopefully this time I can up my verbal score by at least 20 points (if not more… I would really like to get a 600) and at least not do any worse on the math. So, time to start adding words like lugubrious and ossify to my daily vocabulary!

…..

Anyway, those are my thoughts for today. I will keep you all posted about how my goals are coming along. Also, I would like to encourage you to leave comments – even if I don’t really know you, or you think “Oh she will think I am such a creeper for reading her blog” – I will not think you are a creeper, and actually it is kind of fun to find out that old middle school friends or random people you met once your freshman year of college are keeping updated! And, even if you are my mom or my best friend, that doesn’t mean I don’t want you to comment, too…

leaf peeping at moss glen falls this weekend

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Katy

     /  28 October, 2010

    So nice to see that you are trying to be positive in a place you don’t like. I am ‘trying’ to do yoga for 30min every morning, but failing miserably. So good for you! Keep it up! Think of this Vermont time as Claire time…lots of it. And I know how you feel with the imprisonment of rain. Nothing better than braving the wall of rain to make it to work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

