Weak in the Cheese

20111229-234634.jpg

I really love cheese. It is my favorite food category. Nachos and mac & cheese are particular weaknesses of mine, but I don’t discriminate. Cheese cubes, cheese slices, cheese pizza… The problem is that my love is unrequited. And while I don’t particularly mind being excessively gassy (TMI?) at almost all times, apparently it’s not a very socially acceptable trait to nurture.

So tonight I made DAIRY FREE QUESO. Out of puréed cauliflower, nutritional yeast, hummus, apple cider vinegar, and a few spices. And while it didn’t taste all that cheesy, per se, it really was pretty tasty overall.

And just for comparison’s sake, I rounded out my not-real-cheese-cheesy-potatoes by eating a big chunk of sharp cheddar. You know. For science.

Cauliflower Queso Recipe
(I didn’t pay a lot of attention to how much of everything I used, just keep adding pinches of things until you like what you see)
1/2 head of cauliflower, chopped into small pieces
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1/4 cup plain hummus
Apple cider vinegar, about a cap full
Garlic powder, 2 generous pinches
Turmeric, 1 generous pinch
Salt to taste
I also added a little can of diced jalapeños, you can add salsa or whatever you like in your queso.

Boil or steam the cauliflower pieces until they are super tender. Drain and put into a food processor or blender, adding about a cup of water and the hummus. Pulse until creamy. Put the mixture into a pot on medium heat and add the rest of the ingredients, plus another 1/4 cup or so of water, stirring until everything is combined and it begins to sputter.

I ate it as a chip dip and also on some fried potatoes that I had cooked with taco seasoning. It could work for nachos too.

I honestly think getting to the point where I’m totally dairy free is going to be the hardest goal I have. Just going to have to take it one weird vegan dairy substitute recipe step at a time.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

